Series Review: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Source: Acquired from library

When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder— much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died.Or was he a boy? This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary people like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . . (Cassandraclare.com)

My Review:

(This is a spoiler free review)

Okay this is very long overdue, but I am now doing it. Let’s get into this long series review.

Individual Books:

City of Bones: Oh man, I read this one over a year ago so I don’t remember too much about what happened. My feelings about it were, meh. It wasn’t bad, It wasn’t amazing, just eh. This was me dipping my toe into fantasy and seeing that it wasn’t for me at that time (we all know that’s changed now). It was a pretty good start, but at this point in time I didn’t have plans to continue with the series. Rating: ★★★

City of Ashes: With all the hype about the Shadowhunter’s TV show, I thought I would give the series another go. I remembered a lot from the first book so I didn’t think it would be too hard to get into the second one. The plot really picked up in this one and I came to love the characters more. Jace still pissed me off but then again, when doesn’t he. All the development in this one really made me want to continue the series and I am so glad I did. Rating: ★★★★

City of Glass: This is my favorite one in the series easily by far. There were so many twists and turns it was incredible! World building was spot on and plot was phenomenal. I was screaming at some of the stuff that happened. I know this originally was supposed to be the finale and it really was built like a finale. If there weren’t other books, I would be so satisfied with this ending. It was perfect, everything about this one was perfect. Rating: ★★★★★

City of Fallen Angels: After the thrill ride of City of Glass, this one was a bit  mellower. I think it should have been called City of Simon because of all the Simon stuff that happens. Not a lot happens in this one. It was really just setting up for the next book, but there are some really close calls. I was just waiting for City of Lost Souls. Rating: ★★★★

City of Lost Souls: Oh this one! It was super fast paced and you really don’t know how things are going to end. Everything is on edge and just super crazy. You really just want the characters to be safe. There are some twists that make you just like woah, I did not see that coming. Rating: ★★★★★

City of Heavenly Fire: The big finale! This is what I wanted it to be. Wrapping up everything and making way for the next series The Dark Artifices. There are so many heart breaking moments in this book and that monstrously long epilogue made me cry so much. Everything is wrapped up beautifully and you want to hug everyone. CoHF really solidified my love for these characters and I can’t wait to see what comes in TDA. Rating: ★★★★★

Characters:

Clary Fray is a great protagonist. She is stubborn but trying to do the right thing. She annoyed me a tad bit here and there but I loved her. Watching her learn about the Shadowhunter world is great and we grow in knowledge with her. Jace and I have a love hate relationship. In the first two books, I really wanted to punch and slap him because he annoyed me so much. In CoG he made me like him more, but in CoFA & CoLS I wanted to dangle him from a cliff. He can be really arrogant and stuck in his ways, but by the end you love him for it. He is one of the best warriors and really cares for Clary. Some things he does just makes me cringe but his heart’s in the right place.

Isabelle Lightwood will go down in history as one of the most kick-ass female characters in YA literature. She is so sassy and cares about the people she loves. She is one of the best Shadowhunters and I love her relationships with everyone. Her approach to problems is great. She is so cool and stylish. Alec Lightwood is just as awesome as his sister. His relationship with Magnus is so cute. Jace and him have such a dynamic friendship and work great together. He really holds his own and finds his place in the world.

Simon Lewis is amazing. He probably has the record for most close calls. He is so snarky and his relationship with Clary is amazing. They truly are the best of friends. I ship him and Isabelle so much. Luke and Jocelyn are great characters and really round out the world.

(There are a lot of characters, but I won’t talk about them because spoilers)

Romance:

Honestly the romance was some of the best I’ve seen in a while. The chemistry between certrin characters is sometimes too cute to handle. There’s growth and development, with a touch of angst making it great. The stupid love triangle in books 1 & 2 can be overlooked because it quickly goes away. Overall, the romance was cute but not over powering from the plot.

Plot & Setting:

The plot was so intriguing! It kept me on the edge of my seat at times, sometimes it bored me, but it was very interesting. Being in the Shadowhunter world is great and learning about the in’s and out’s is very intriguing. I can’t wait to explore the world more in the next few book series. I loved the back drop of New York and The Glass City.

Overall Thoughts:

This is such a great series! There are a few minor flaws that can be overlooked. Such a fast paced series that will grip you and you will get attached to the characters. Overall, one of my favorites now and I can’t wait to see what Cassandra Clare has in store for us in the future.

Series Rating: ★★★★(1/2)

One thought on “Series Review: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

  1. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    So glad that you like this series so much! I personally love the first 3 books but the rest of the series just escalated for me 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

