Mini Reviews: Before I Go Camping

Hey guys! I’ve read a lot of books and have not reviewed them. Things have gotten hectic lately and rather than bombarding you guys with a bunch of reviews here are some mini reviews of everything that I have read lately. ALSO NOTICE: I will be gone this weekend on a camping trip where there is no cell service so I won’t be able to respond to comments and stuff till Sunday, maybe Monday. When I get back I’ll also put up the recap of me getting to meet Marissa Meyer! I am still so happy about that!

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★ (1/5)

Can I just say, I love Celaena so fricken much! She is so bad ass and stands up for what she believes in. These novellas were really great prequels to Throne of Glass and provided great background on Celaena’s past. My favorite novella was The Assassin and the Healer. I really hope we see more of Yrene in the future books. One downside for me was even though the stories flowed chronologically, the feel felt choppy. Like the book would start, then stop, then start again. I also wanted more Sam! But seeing why Celaena was so bitter in the beginning of Throne of Glass was really nice and I got to sympathize with her. Overall, great novella’s that provided background on an epic character.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  Goodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★★

THAT ENDING THOUGH! Crown of Midnight was the most satisfying sequel ever. It kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end. There was great plot and character development which I adored. So much happens that you don’t even know how to feel about all of it. Okay, I know in my Throne of Glass Review I said that I was Team Dorian. Well… I might be on Team Chaol now. I know! I know! But we saw so much more of Chaol and his relationship grew with Celaena. I honestly don’t know who is going to be end game, but I am really curious to find out. But everything that happens in this book will just tug at your heart strings and make you want more. And I just have to give a slow clap to Sarah J. Maas for that ending.

Anything Could Happen By Will Walton

Goodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★

I really enjoyed this one! It was refreshing and made me feel all the feels. Took me awhile to adjust to the writing style, but I quickly became accustomed to it. I will say you will get Ellie Goulding stuck in your head while you are reading this. I want Tretch to be my best friend, because he loves Taylor Swift and books. Overall, great story and I can’t wait to see what more Will Walton has to offer.

 

Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Goodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★★

And when I think I can’t love Marissa Meyer anymore? She writes the back story to one of the most perfect villains I have ever encountered. Yes I know this book has been out for months but I finally got around to reading it. Levana is so evil. It was really interesting to be in the head of a villain seeing why she did what she did. Her back story is so heartbreaking. It was hard to sympathize with her because I knew what she would do in the future. And some of the things she does are so horrible that I really hated her for them. Overall, this was the perfect execution of a villain and why she did what she did.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

This-Song-Will-Save-Your-Life-Leila-Sales-Book-CoverGoodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★

This was a total whim read and I’m so glad that I read it. Trigger for Self Harm and Suicide. I loved the music aspect of it and how she becomes a DJ. Elise goes through so much and to meet people that care about her, I was rooting for her the entire time. I loved how brutally honest this book was. High school isn’t the best time for some people and we really see that with Elise. She just wants to fit in at school and finding something she truly cares about really helps her find herself. The downside to this was the romance. It felt, weird. The main love interest was distant and it just didn’t feel right. Overall, if you love music and self discovery, READ THIS!

Have you guys read any of these? If so, What were your thoughts? I will see you guys when I get back from camping!

3 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Before I Go Camping

Leave a Reply

