Mini Reviews: Series, Series, Series

Hey guys! Long time no see! It feels like a long time, probably isn’t… But today I have some mini book reviews. This was inspired by YA Midnight Reads who do mini reviews from time to time and I thought the idea was great! I have read a lot of series books lately, which is surprising for me since I’m a hard core stand-alone person. But I felt like continuing on with some series the past few reads. Like the second and third books from The Mortal Instruments and the second book from the Raven Boys Series, as well as some others. So let’s get into it!

The Raven Cycle (Books 1 & 2): By Maggie Stiefvater

TheRavenBoysThe Dream Thieves The Raven Boys: Goodreads | Purchase

The Dream Thieves: Goodreads | Purchase

The Raven Boys Rating: ★★★★

The Dream Thieves Rating: ★★★

 

I have mixed feelings about this series and what I have read so far. I enjoyed the first book The Raven Boys very much. I thought it was a bit slow at first but things picked up as the story went along. The characters are really the true gem of the series. Blue, Gansey, Ronan, Adam, Noah, they are all so great and so unique. The setting is gorgeous. I feel like a lot more things could be explained like with background about ley lines and things like that. The second book, The Dream Thieves kind of fell flat for me. I found it wayy too slow and really wanted things to pick up but they didn’t. I’m unsure if I’ll be continuing on with the series, but if you are interested in mythology or psychics, pick this series up.

The Mortal Instruments (Books 2 & 3): By Cassandra Clare

city-of-ashes City Of GlassCity of Ashes: Goodreads | Purchase

City of Glass: Goodreads | Purchase

City of Ashes Rating: ★★★★

City of Glass Rating: ★★★★★

 

I was  very iffy about City of Bones. It was good, but could have been 10x better. Since the announcement of The Shadowhunters TV series, I thought that maybe I should pick up the series again and give it another go. I thought City of Ashes was way better than City of Bones. The only downside was Jace. I DID NOT LIKE HIM AT ALL IN THIS BOOK. He pissed me off way too much. But we got a lot of answers from the first book and a lot of promise for the next one. City of Glass (pardon my language but…) HOLY SHIT MAN! City of Glass was a huge step up from the previous books. It was full of action and character development. We find out so much mind blowing stuff that changes the course of the series and really makes the series worthwhile. I’m currently reading Clockwork Angel and we meet all the ancestors, it’s a really great time. If you’ve read City of Bones and thought about not continuing on with the series. I promise you, the next books are so worth your time and they really are unique.

Macbeth: By William Shakespeare

MacbethGoodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★

I had to read this for school. Last year I read Romeo and Juliet and really enjoyed it, but with this one I found it kind of boring. I didn’t care about the characters at all and found the plot dull. I love Shakespeare, but this one just wasn’t for me.

 

Tokyo Heist: By Diana Renn

Tokyo HeistGoodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★

I haven’t review this yet on my blog and I thought it was time. I found this really great and cute! I loved how it took place in Seattle and Japan. The characters were quirky and cool. One thing I thought really stood out is that the adults actually seemed to care about what the teenagers had to say and took their suggestions to heart. If your looking for a quick read with a little mystery set in a beautiful city and country check this book out!

The Catcher In The Rye: By JD Salinger

the-catcher-in-the-rye-cover Goodreads | Purchase

Rating: ★★★★★

This book is a phony. I am really surprised by this. Thank you to my friend who pushed me to read this. This book is considered one of the most controversial books of our time and many people hate this book, but I was the complete opposite. I loved this book and everything about it. The writing style was great and the story flowed brilliantly. Describing things without making it too long. I loved the characters and thought they were so real. Holden Caulfield could have been someone that I have actually met (and I probably have). All the other characters really helped the story moved along. The only downside is I just wish this went on longer. And I really hoped he would have talked to Jane! I feel like this is one of those books that every teenager needs to read. It perfectly captured how most teenagers feel about life and school these days. If your looking for a solid classic, look no further.

Have you guys read any series lately or any other of the books above? Let me know in the comments and have a great day!

– Katie (Book Arrows)

 

One thought on “Mini Reviews: Series, Series, Series

Leave a Reply

