Review: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Me and Earl and The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Publisher: Amulet Books

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Release Date: March 1st 2012

Source: Acquired from local library

Goodreads | Purchase

Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.

My Review:

I had previously tried to read this last year but put it down. Because of the movie, I decided to pick it up again and I am so glad I did.

Reading the description you may immediately think The Fault In Our Stars, but my friend, that it absolutely not the case. I read this book in one sitting. ONE SITTING PEOPLE. I NEVER do that! I just decided to pick it up from my very tall stack of library books and I sat down to read it. I had already read about 50% of the book, so that part went by very quickly. But when I got to the end I cried. I seriously cried.

Me and Earl and The Dying Girl is not a romance. It’s funny and heart warming and everything but a romance. Greg, the main character, has a very interesting way of looking at life. He tries to distance himself from people and not get stuck in one spot. His friend, Earl, man, do I wish he existed in real life. He is one of the funniest characters I’ve read in a very long time. His family was hilarious as well. He keeps Greg in check (or maybe Greg does that for Earl…). Rachel despite being diagnosed with cancer, she wants to keep living on life. She seemed just like someone I would hang out with and I liked that. I like that Jesse Andrews made all the characters seem real. But Greg’s parents were a total hoot as well and the accidental drugging made me want to fall out of my chair, I was laughing so hard.

The story of this book flowed nicely. Humor was on every page and it was told as if Greg was writing the story. The writing was great and really made the story come alive. After reading this, I am super exited for the movie and can’t wait to see it when it comes out next month. I’ve heard that the movie got rave reviews at Sundance so that makes me even more excited!

Overall, this isn’t a sad book. It’s a funny one that will make you laugh and cry and feel everything in between.

Rating: ★★★★

(PS: I also just made my 2015 Reading Challenge Page, so go check it out!)

One thought on “Review: Me and Earl and The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Leave a Reply

