Review: The Queen Of Bright and Shiny Things by Ann Aguirre

The Queen Of Bright and Shiny Things: Ann Aguirre

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Release Date: April 7th 2015

Source: Acquired from local library

Goodreads | Purchase

Sage Czinski is trying really hard to be perfect. If she manages it, people won’t peer beyond the surface, or ask hard questions about her past. She’s learned to substitute causes for relationships, and it’s working just fine… until Shane Cavendish strolls into her math class. He’s a little antisocial, a lot beautiful, and everything she never knew she always wanted.

Shane Cavendish just wants to be left alone to play guitar and work on his music. He’s got heartbreak and loneliness in his rearview mirror, and this new school represents his last chance. He doesn’t expect to be happy; he only wants to graduate and move on. He never counted on a girl like Sage.

But love doesn’t mend all broken things, and sometimes life has to fall apart before it can be put back together again…

My Review:

I don’t know how to start this review (as I do with most reviews). The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things really surprised me. I didn’t know the premise going into this book, other than the main male lead plays the guitar. And I’m totally over the whole guitar play guy trope. So I started to read and I started to fall in love.

The characters were amazing. Sage really had determination. She wants to help people and the environment. Which is another thing I loved is her passion for the environment. Her love for the environment was there, but it didn’t force it on us. I loved how she understands when people come from rough backgrounds. Even though she hates how her dark past comes back up again, she takes control of it and makes sure it doesn’t hurt her again. Shane stole my heart. I love him so much. He is so much more than playing the guitar (He played an All Time Low song in the book, which seals the deal for me). Shane is a little lost in life and he helps Sage while she helps him. And he writes her the cutest song ever okay? Lila was funny and sassy. She doesn’t care what people think of her and moves on from her past.

Okay, I will admit that Ryan was a bit of a dick. He was okay and what he did to Sage was terrible! I loved how Aunt Gabby actually did stuff and really seemed to care about Sage despite them not being directly related. She goes along with Sage’s refusal to ride in a car and embraces her as her own daughter.

I loved the plot and how it really developed the characters. The relationships between everyone grew and changed. The things you find out are heart breaking and touching. The romance was just right and developed like a real relationship. Sage and Shane are just what each other needs. I seriously had to put the book down for a minute or two because I was on the verge of fangirling. Shane. Just Shane. God. I loved him so fricken much.

Overall, this is a great novel about really finding that one person that makes you whole. And it is the queen of bright and shiny things.

Rating: ★★★★★

5 thoughts on “Review: The Queen Of Bright and Shiny Things by Ann Aguirre

  1. Nova @ Out of Time says:

    I wish I was able to like this one as much as you did! I saw the potential in it because I really did like a lot of aspects but the romance actually ended up turning me off a little. It was too much for me in some instances and I’m also not a good contemp reader either but again, SO GLAD YOU LOVED!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookarrows says:

      Aww that sucks you didn’t like it but I totally understand. I haven’t read a contemporary in what feels like a very long time, so this was quite nice. I can totally see where you were coming from though.

      Like

  2. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    So glad that you loved this one so much, Katie! I absolutely love the cover – it looks like a lot of fun xD Definitely bumping this one up the TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

