Review: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Give You The Sun by: Jandy Nelson

Publisher: Dial Books

Genre: YA, Contemporary

Release Date: September 16th 2014

Source: Acquired from local library

Goodreads | Purchase

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

My Review:

I am struggling to write this review so much. I have never been so conflicted about a book before. I just want to say that awhile a go in 2014, I tried to read this, but got really pissed of 40 pages in. At the time I just was not enjoying the characters or the story so I put it down. But I picked it back up because I wanted to say that I had read it.

While I was reading this the book felt dull. Not a lot happened and people were being very vague. I guess that’s the mystery aspect to the book, but for me it didn’t click. When I finished this book I was trying to pin point the main reason why I liked the book but at the same time didn’t. It was Jude.

Jude is the main sister in the story alongside her twin brother, Noah. I did not like Jude. She angered me to no extent. She makes these really stupid decisions and she just bugged me. The whole thing with her grandmothers book bugged me. If the book was just Noah, I would be completely fine. Oh, I also thought her romance was completely unnecessary.

Noah was great. I loved Noah. He just wants to find his place in this world and Jude really held him back. He wants to create, to give life to things. I just want to wrap him in a blanket and tell him it will be all right.

One very prominent aspect in this book was the writing. Sometimes this book felt like I’ll Give You The Metaphor, but these metaphors worked. Jandy Nelson has a way with words that I can’t even describe. It was beautiful without being to sweet.

Lets get on to the most important part of the book. The story. We follow Noah when he’s about 13 and Jude when she’s 16. This duel point of view was very interesting to see. I do wish that we saw more of Noah’s life when he’s also 16 as well, but beggars can’t be choosers. What really made this book for me was the ending. Until page 300, this book was about a 2 or 3 stars. Then page 300 hit. That changed the entire course of the book for me. We find out so much stuff that really brings everything full circle and that’s really what made this book for me.

Overall, this book is odd but strangely right. If your willing to wait for closure, I’ll Give You The Sun is a story that will stick with you forever.

Rating: ★★★★

(Date read: March 16, 2015)

Leave a Reply

