Review: Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

18367581Afterworlds by: Scott Westerfeld

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Genre: Contemporary, Fantasy, YA

Release Date: September 23rd, 2014

Source: Acquired from local library

Goodreads | Purchase

Darcy Patel has put college and everything else on hold to publish her teen novel, Afterworlds. Arriving in New York with no apartment or friends she wonders whether she’s made the right decision until she falls in with a crowd of other seasoned and fledgling writers who take her under their wings…

Told in alternating chapters is Darcy’s novel, a suspenseful thriller about Lizzie, a teen who slips into the ‘Afterworld’ to survive a terrorist attack. But the Afterworld is a place between the living and the dead and as Lizzie drifts between our world and that of the Afterworld, she discovers that many unsolved – and terrifying – stories need to be reconciled. And when a new threat resurfaces, Lizzie learns her special gifts may not be enough to protect those she loves and cares about most.

My Review:

I am struggling to figure out what I am feeling about this book. It’s like I’m so frustrated but relieved?

Okay first off, The duel point of view was very interesting. We have one contemporary story but then it switches to paranormal. I don’t know how that worked but it did. I had my ups and downs with each point of view. Some times I found one of them more interesting than the other, and vice versa. The plot was eh. Lizzie’s story didn’t make sense at some parts and I really wish we had more time for her story to develop, as it felt very rushed. Darcy’s story was interesting at times, but really overall boring.

Now the characters, Oh my god did I struggle with the characters. I found Darcy incredibly annoying, indecisive, and immature. She tried to be an adult but failed (if that’s even possible). I really liked her parents though. Lizzie was a bit better, but had her annoying parts. Imogen seemed like she was trying to be too cool and a little bit full of herself. And Darcy and Imogen’s relationship felt forced. I did like all the other side characters though, especially Mindy. She was really cute and adorable.

The reason why I didn’t give this book a 2 (or even 1) stars, is because I really like how everything wrapped up and started. It started off with a bang and then ended all nice and tidy with a bow on top. To me, this book was, meh. I liked the beginning and the end. The middle not so much. Nothing happened in the middle. The story wasn’t going anywhere and it just felt like a bunch of random crap thrown in the story to make it longer. I did love the writing style though. I haven’t read any other Westerfeld books, so I don’t know how this one stacks up against the Uglies series, but one things for certain. Scott Westerfeld can write. His writing was descriptive without being to long winded in detail.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy this as much as I thought I would and I am looking forward to picking up more of Westerfeld’s books in the future.

Rating: ★★★

(Date Read: January 11, 2015)

 

Leave a Reply

